ISTA Views

MAY | 2018

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 5 of 28

5 ista views • May 2018 • Dave LeButt of Georgia-Pacific, a friend and mentor to many in the packaging industry and a long-time ISTA member and officer, passed away suddenly in 1999. As a tribute to Dave's never-tiring efforts, his high level of professionalism, and his eagerness to openly share his knowledge and experiences with so many in our industry, ISTA created the R. David LeButt Packaging Education Award and it was first awarded in 2000. This is an annual award and has been given to 19 other professionals since its creation. Marshall "Mark" White, Professor Emeritus, Department of Sustainable Biomaterials at Virginia Tech is the 2018 R. David LeButt award recipient. ISTA announced this honor at the recent ISTA Forum in San Diego, California. Mark has received degrees from Colorado State University and Virginia Tech with B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Wood Science and Forest Products. He was head of the US delegation to the International Organization of Standardization (IS) TC51 Committee on International Pallet Standards and chaired the American Society of Engineers MH1 Committee on Pallet & Container Standards. He was a member of the faculty in the Department of Wood Science & Forest Products at Virginia Tech since 1975 where he served as Past Director of the Pallet and Container Research Laboratory and Center for Unit Load Design. His research and extension programs through the pallet lab and the unit load design lab focused on unit load materials handling efficiency. As a result of Mark's research expertise, he has written many national and international standards for pallets and containers. Past recipients of this award are Bill Kipp, Al McKinlay, Herb Schueneman, Jorge Marcondes, Dennis Young, John Clarke, Lejo Brana, Steve Pierce, Bill Armstrong, Dave Shires, Larry Rutledge, Alan Crawford, Joan Pierce, Larry Dull, Paul Singh, Leon Venech, Karen Proctor, Ed Church and Brian Wagner. A tribute to Dave consists of a large memorial plaque that is prominently displayed at the Georgia Pacific Innovation Institute in Norcross Georgia. ISTA is pleased that Mark is the recipient of the 2018 R. David LeButt Packaging Education Award. Congratulations! 2018 R. David LeButt Award Recipient: Marshall S. White PhD Marshall "Mark" White, 2018 R. David LeButt recipient at ISTA's Forum in San Diego, CA. May 13-16, 2019 Denver, Colorado | Gaylord Rockies Resort & Convention Center

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of ISTA Views - MAY | 2018